A Gift of Love

image

Walking around the city mall all day
Have been going from one shop to another
Searching for that special gift
Valentines Day is Friday and still can’t decide on a gift
Sure a card will do, I guess but really?
I swear if I don’t get a gift in the next shop, I muttered
Kept scolding myself for doing this last minute
And suddenly something caught my eye
Oh, there you are – found at last!

I hurriedly went inside the store, almost closing time!
Whilst looking inside the glass cabinet – I felt a little disappointed – I can’t touch it then and there
The lady at the store approached me with a smile, ” May I help you?”
I replied with a hint of excitement, “Yes please!”
She opened the cabinet and handed me the item
I felt like a child buying a toy for the first time.
Without a blink I whispered, “Finally!”

At the counter, the lady told me it’s the last of the two items.
I asked why only two and she replied, “Well, it’s two of a kind gift.”
She then guided me to the door ready to close – being the last customer
Curiousity struck me – “Who bought the other kind?”, I wondered
On my way home, I thought of you and smiled.
I felt so proud of myself for finding this gift
I thought of the other kind – then wished whoever gets it will feel so special.

In my head I played a scene – what wrapper to use
Where to put the gift so you can easily spot it
Words to write on the card – of what I truly feel
I imagine you finding your gift as I purposely left it before going to work
I imagine your face lighting up reading the card
I imagine you opening the box and taking the gift out.
I imagine what you would say and how your voice would sound like
Most of all, I imagine you holding the gift – a gift of love everlasting.

Anja-Mariela Gutierrez
11 Feb 2014

One thought on “A Gift of Love

Leave a Reply

